Pets

How to make a dog bed out of a old blanket

Hello!

As most pet owners know, owning a fur baby can be very expensive. My Husband and I own a 95 pound German Shepherd puppy by the name of Duke. I know what your thinking that he cannot possibly be a puppy as he weighs as much as a 10-year-old, but you would be mistaken he is only 11 months old.

In my quest to find pet supplies I came to the realization that purchasing a bed large enough for Duke was not only going to be difficult  it was also going to be extremely expensive upwards of $100.00. Don’t get me wrong I love my dog to pieces but this was a little steep for a bed he may or may not use, so I came up with a cheap alternative that requires very few materials and a basic knowledge of sewing. So without further ado here are the instructions.

As a disclaimer I am by no means a seamstress, I do not have a ton of sewing experience so that just shows if I can do it anyone can.

Materials:

  • An old (or new) throw blanket – I used a rectangular flannel blanket I found at a thrift store. The size of the blanket should be large enough so when it is folded in half it can comfortably fit your dog while they are laying down. unnamed-16
  • Standard Pillows – I used three but this can vary depending on how large the bed you are making is
  • Thread – Matching color to the blanket
  • Sewing Machine
  • Zipper – should be the same width as your blanket folded in half

Step 1

Fold your blanket in half with right sides together. Pin along one of the short edges and the long edge, leave one of the short sides open this is where you will attach your zipper

unnamed-9

Step 2

Sew along the pinned edges leaving approximately a 1/2 inch seam allowance. Make sure you back-stitch at the beginning and end of each seam.

The blanket I choose had fringe along the long sides. Since I was not intending on using the fringe as part of the design I simply sewed along the edge making sure to keep the fringe out of the seam. Once the bed is flipped right side in the fringe will be inside the bed and not interfere with its use. If it is easier or you would prefer you can always trim the fringe off of the blanket before pinning and sewing.

Step 3

Attach the zipper along the side of the blanket that was left open. Ensure that the sipper lines up and can be zipped when completed. Then sew one side of the zipper to one side of the blanket, and repeat for the next side.

I like to put the zipper in so that I can take the pillows out and wash the cover when needed, but this is not necessary. If you prefer you can just put the pillows in at this step and hand stitch the opening closed.

unnamed-10

unnamed-11

Step 4 

Flip your cover so it is now right side out and the seams are inside the cover. Complete the bed by putting the pillows inside and arranging them so they lay as flat as possible. Zip up the zipper and you are done!

unnamed-14

This project is fairly easy and you really only need to know how to sew a straight seam. Minor issues with sewing will not be easily noticed and your dog will love it so that’s what counts! 🙂

Cost for this project:

Blanket – $7.00

Pillows – $4.00 x 3 = $12.00

Thread – $2.00

You dog having a comfy place to rest his or her head – Priceless

Total cost – $21.00

There is no guarentee your dog won’t sleep on your bed anyways. 13529090_10157033027155364_288040509453296977_n-2

Thanks for reading!

Kris

 

Leave a Reply

